Towed Watersports Education Endorsement
Last year the Oregon Legislature passed House Bill 2352 that directed the Marine Board to create a Towed Watersports Education Program for wakeboarders and wakesurfers on the Newberg Pool (Willamette River, RM 30-50). This law went into effect on January 1, 2020.
Continue reading to find out all the important details on the newly required Towed Water Sports Education Course.
Who Needs It
Any boat operator engaged in wakeboarding and/or wakesurfing in the area roughly between Roger’s Landing and Bernert Landing. This is required for anyone that will be operating the boat, even if they are not the owner of the boat.
What is Required
You must have a current Boater Education Card issued in Oregon or from another state and have passed the test associated with the Towed Watersports Education Program study guide. Oregon does not accept out of state Towed Watersports Courses.
After completing and passing the test, you will be mailed a Towed Watersports Education Card and a decal for the boat. Every boat towing a wakeboarder or wakesurfer in this area MUST have this decal, and every operator MUST have a current endorsement card. If you plan to operate someone else’s boat, you must complete this training, carry your card, and ensure that the boat has a current boat decal. If you are engaged in towed watersports that are not wakeboarding or wakesurfing (such as waterskiing or tubing), there is no decal requirement at this time.
The initial cost for the card and decal is $60. Every two years you are required to pay a $60 renewal fee.
The Study Guide
The Oregon State Marine Board developed a 20-page Study Guide that is available online. Printed versions are also available at local sheriff’s offices. You can request a free copy by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org with your full name and mailing address.
Taking the Test
The test is not available online. There are several places where you can take the proctored exam. Contact the following offices to schedule your exam:
Oregon State Marine Board – walk-ins available from 8:00 – 3:30, Monday through Friday.
Clackamas County Sheriff’s Office – By appointment. Call (503) 655-8650
Yamhill County Sheriff’s Office – By appointment. Call (503) 434-7506
Active Water Sports has also partnered with the Oregon State Marine Board to proctor exams at our Oregon City location. Testing will be available from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. during any of the following dates:
-Thursday, February 13, 2020
-Thursday, March 12, 2020
-Thursday, April 16, 2020
-Thursday, May 14, 2020
-Thursday, June 11, 2020
-Thursday, July 16, 2020
-Thursday, August 13, 2020
If you would like to learn more about the Towed Watersports Education Program, please call the Oregon State Marine Board at (503) 378-2635.
No matter where you ride, remember to wake responsibly by following these three rules:
- Minimize repetitive passes
- Keep music at a responsible level
- Stay at least 200 ft away from docks, structures, the shoreline and other boats