Oregon Legislator will pass or deny House Bill 4099 and House Bill 4138 next week. The bills will implement laws prohibiting boaters from using wake enhancement devices (WED) and require boats to abide by the Slow-No-Wake law within 200 feet of docks, boathouses or moorages. These laws will be enforced within Willamette mile 50 (Roger’s Landing in Newberg) and Willamette mile 30 (10th Street in West Linn) if the bills pass.
If you love to boat and participate in watersports, email your local representative and the Oregon transportation committee with the subject line “NO on HB 4099 and HB 4138” now to voice your concern of these potential laws! Go to the Oregon Legislature website and type in your address to discover who your county representative is. Also, if you want to stay up-to-date on the status of these bills, find them using the search bar, then sign up for the email subscriptions.
If these two bills pass, boaters with WED within the mile mark 50 to 30 radius or boaters that do not follow the Slow-No-Wake laws will face a fine of up to $2,000 on the first offense and up to 30 days in jail, a $5,000 fine, or both, and prohibition from operating a boat for two years on a second offense within three years.
Email your representative now to ensure your rights as a boater!